TSSSU Limits: HK$1.5 Million a Year per Start-up, Three Years Max
Under TSSSU, each funded technology start-up may receive up to HK$1.5 million each year for no more than three years under TSSSU-O or TSSSU+. In 2026-27, each of the six universities may receive annual funding of up to HK$12.8 million, consisting of HK$6.4 million each for TSSSU-O and TSSSU+. These figures are stated by the Innovation and Technology Commission (ITF) and were checked on 2026-10-01.
| Funding measure | Official limit or rule | Source and checked date |
|---|---|---|
| Funding per start-up | Up to HK$1.5 million each year | Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Funding period per start-up | No more than three years | Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Funding per university in 2026-27 | Up to HK$12.8 million annually | Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01 |
| TSSSU-O allocation within the university limit | HK$6.4 million | Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01 |
| TSSSU+ allocation within the university limit | HK$6.4 million | Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01 |
The HK$1.5 million figure is a maximum for each funded start-up, not an automatic entitlement. The official page also distinguishes the underlying TSSSU-O arrangement from the TSSSU+ enhancement measure.
Does TSSSU+ provide matching funds?
Yes. TSSSU+ is an enhancement measure introduced from 2023-24. It provides dollar-to-dollar matching funds to start-ups that have demonstrated good growth potential by securing investment from the private sector, according to the Innovation and Technology Commission (checked 2026-10-01).
The matching arrangement means that private-sector investment is relevant to the TSSSU+ enhancement route. The official page does not provide an additional matching-rate calculation or a separate total funding ceiling in the information checked on 2026-10-01.
What expenses can TSSSU funding cover?
The funding scope includes both essential start-up set-up and operating expenditure, research and development expenditure, and promotion or marketing activities. The listed examples below are reproduced from the Innovation and Technology Commission (checked 2026-10-01):
- Furniture and equipment
- Legal and accounting services
- Rental of necessary and suitable premises
- Manpower
- Expenditure on R&D
- Promotion activities
- Marketing of R&D deliverables, products or services
The official page describes these as eligible categories or examples of the funding scope. It does not state a separate percentage cap for each category on the information checked on 2026-10-01.
How is TSSSU funding paid?
TSSSU funding is provided to universities on a reimbursement basis after the close of each Government financial year. A university may request an advance payment, subject to its needs. For 2026-27, the advance payment must not exceed 25% of the approved funding amount.
These payment terms are stated by the Innovation and Technology Commission and were checked on 2026-10-01:
| Payment step | Official treatment |
|---|---|
| Normal funding route | Reimbursement after the close of each Government financial year |
| Advance payment | A university may request one |
| Maximum advance payment for 2026-27 | 25% of the approved funding amount |
The advance-payment limit applies to the approved funding amount, so it should not be read as a separate start-up funding ceiling.
Is the HK$1.5 million limit the same for TSSSU-O and TSSSU+?
The official funding statement applies the same per-start-up maximum of HK$1.5 million each year for no more than three years to start-ups funded under TSSSU-O or TSSSU+ respectively. TSSSU+ adds the private-sector investment matching measure described above; the checked official page does not state a different per-start-up maximum for TSSSU+.
All funding amounts and the allocation figures above are from the Innovation and Technology Commission, checked on 2026-10-01.
How should a start-up interpret the university and start-up limits?
There are two separate official ceilings to keep in view:
- University-level funding: Each of the six universities may receive up to HK$12.8 million annually in 2026-27, with HK$6.4 million each for TSSSU-O and TSSSU+.
- Start-up-level funding: Each funded start-up may receive up to HK$1.5 million each year for no more than three years.
These are maximum funding limits stated by the Innovation and Technology Commission, checked on 2026-10-01. They do not by themselves confirm an individual award. The official page does not state that every university or start-up will receive the full maximum.
Frequently asked questions
Is TSSSU funding limited to HK$1.5 million in total?
No. The official limit is up to HK$1.5 million each year for no more than three years for each funded start-up, according to the Innovation and Technology Commission, checked on 2026-10-01.
How much can a university receive under TSSSU?
For 2026-27, each of the six universities may receive up to HK$12.8 million annually: HK$6.4 million each for TSSSU-O and TSSSU+. Source: Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01.
Does TSSSU+ match private investment dollar for dollar?
Yes. The official page describes TSSSU+ as providing dollar-to-dollar matching funds to qualifying start-ups that secure private-sector investment and demonstrate good growth potential. Source: Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01.
Can a university receive an advance payment?
A university may request an advance payment. For 2026-27, it shall not exceed 25% of the approved funding amount. Source: Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01.
Does TSSSU cover R&D and marketing expenses?
Yes. The stated scope includes R&D expenditure, promotion activities and marketing of R&D deliverables, products or services, as well as essential start-up set-up and operating items. Source: Innovation and Technology Commission, checked 2026-10-01.