← 返回首页

HKSTP Incu-Bio 2026: Up to HK$6 Million for Biotech Start-ups and How It Differs From the Main Programme

HKSTP's Incu-Bio page states support of up to HK$6 million, consisting of a HK$4 million financial subsidy and an upfront grant with HK$2 million to cover regulatory activities such as clinical trials (checked 2026-09-30). By contrast, the Incubation Programme Guide Version 13 (26 March 2026) caps funding for a company across the three-year Incubation Programme at HK$1,290,000. Incu-Bio applications must include a four-year milestone plan.

What does Incu-Bio actually fund, in HKSTP's own words?

The Incu-Bio programme page puts the ceiling at HK$6 million and splits it into two parts:

The word "upfront" matters for a biotech founder planning cash flow: the page presents part of the money as available ahead of the work it funds, rather than as reimbursement after the fact. The page does not publish a date of issue or update, so the HK$6 million figure should be treated as current as of the 30 September 2026 check only.

One submission requirement is explicit: applications must come with a four-year milestone plan.

How do the two programmes compare on headline terms?

Incu-Bio Incubation Programme
Stated funding ceiling HK$6,000,000 (HK$4,000,000 financial subsidy + upfront grant with HK$2,000,000 for regulatory activities) HK$1,290,000 across the 3-year term
Stated duration Not stated on the checked page 3 years
Detail verified here Page-level figures only Guide Version 13, 26 March 2026
Source HKSTP Incu-Bio page, checked 2026-09-30 Incubation Programme Guide Version 13, checked 2026-09-30

The ceiling is the clearest difference, and it is large enough that the two programmes solve different problems: clinical-stage regulatory work and general technology commercialisation.

Does the main Incubation Programme even accept biotech?

Its eligibility test does not obviously read as biotech-inclusive. The guide requires the applicant's activities to be related to technology such as electronics, information and communications technology, material and precision engineering, or green technology. Biotechnology does not appear in that list, which is the practical reason Incu-Bio exists as a separate route on the same incubation pages. The materials checked here do not explain how HKSTP routes an applicant between the two, so a biotech founder whose work overlaps those four areas should ask HKSTP which programme the application belongs to.

The other eligibility conditions, all from Guide Version 13 (26 March 2026):

What changed in 2026: legacy track versus revamped track

This is the change most likely to affect a founder reading older summaries. The guide splits participants by the date of their second milestone assessment:

The revamped track is staged. Year one is the IncuHatch stage; years two and three are the IncuBoost stage. Entry into IncuBoost is conditional: the company must pass the D-Day assessment somewhere in months 10 to 12 and agree to sign a SAFE (Simple Agreement for Future Equity) in favour of HKSTP, or its designated subsidiary, giving HKSTP a future equity position. A company that fails the assessment or declines to sign is treated as having graduated from IncuHatch and receives no further programme support.

How much is paid, and when, under each track?

Track Cash support Rental subsidy
Revamped Year 1 HK$140,000; Year 2 HK$420,000; Year 3 HK$280,000 (guide lists a HK$840,000 total) HK$150,000 per programme year (guide lists a HK$450,000 three-year total)
Legacy HK$280,000 per year Same rental terms

The guide also describes the rental subsidy as HK$12,500 per month for the full three-year duration, with any unspent balance from the first and second programme years carried forward to the third year. The cash amounts are front-loaded differently under the revamped track, which is deliberate: less money in year one, more in year two.

Separately, the guide states that the funding support is subject to change from time to time at HKSTP's sole discretion.

Can you combine this with other Hong Kong government funding?

Not without permission. Incubatees are prohibited from seeking financial subsidy or funding from other Hong Kong Government funding programmes or grants for the same R&D project — the "no double-dipping of public funding" rule — unless HKSTP approves it in writing. Plan your grant calendar around that, because the restriction is tied to the same R&D project rather than to the company as a whole.

Where Cyberport's programme fits in the decision

You cannot be in Cyberport's programme while applying to HKSTP's, since the eligibility condition above bars current participants of any Cyberport incubation programme. For reference, Cyberport describes its Cyberport Incubation Programme as a 24-month journey offering up to HK$500,000 in financial assistance and a HK$200,000 on-site rental subsidy, with grant stages published as an initial HK$100,000 working capital grant, up to HK$200,000 released on six-month progress reviews (HK$50,000 at month 6, HK$50,000 at month 12, HK$100,000 at month 24), and up to HK$200,000 through a performance-driven two-tiered assessment.

Cyberport's page carries a programme notice that the CIP will be undergoing enhancements, with updated details announced soon, and its current status line says applications for the next intake will open soon. The page does not state whether a future intake would run on the terms listed above.

What the official material does not say

Three limits on this comparison are worth stating plainly:

FAQ

Is the HK$6 million guaranteed to every Incu-Bio company?

No. The Incu-Bio page presents it as a ceiling of "up to HK$6 million", not an entitlement, and it does not describe how the amount is assessed. For the main Incubation Programme, Guide Version 13 separately states that funding support may change at HKSTP's sole discretion.

How long does Incu-Bio last?

The official material checked for this article does not say. The main Incubation Programme runs three years per its programme page and Guide Version 13, and Incu-Bio's application requires a four-year milestone plan, but the plan horizon is not stated as a programme term.

Do I have to give HKSTP equity?

For revamped-track participants in the main Incubation Programme, yes for years two and three: entry into the IncuBoost stage requires both passing the D-Day assessment and signing a SAFE granting HKSTP or its designated subsidiary a future equity position. Refusing to sign means graduating from IncuHatch without further programme support. The Incu-Bio page says nothing about equity.

I am already in Cyberport's programme. Can I apply?

Not while you are a current participant. Guide Version 13 bars applicants who are currently in any incubation programme offered by HKSTP, Cyberport Management Company Limited, or Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park Limited. Companies that have already completed such a programme may reapply only when doing so as their second application.

Can I also hold another Hong Kong government grant?

Only with HKSTP's written approval. The no-double-dipping rule prohibits seeking other Hong Kong Government funding for the same R&D project, though it is scoped to that project rather than to everything the company does.

Sources